July 2021

Rahasudha Kannan (mentor: Laurie McCauley, D.D.S., Ph.D.): F31 ($123K) for “Biomimetic apoptotic particles for macrophage-driven oral bone regeneration” (CB)

May 2021

Derek Dang (mentor: Sriram Venneti, M.D., Ph.D.): F31 ($75K) for “Evaluating the role of EZH2-interacting protein (EZHIP) in pediatric posterior fossa ependymoma metabolism” (CG)

Ashley Melnick (mentor: Mark Chiang, M.D., Ph.D.): F31 ($115K) for “Investigating the Role of Cdc73 in T-cell Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (T-ALL)” (CG)

Andrew Scott (mentor: Daniel Wahl, M.D., Ph.D.): F32 ($196K) for “Targeting purine biosynthesis to radiosensitize glioblastoma” (DT)

Lillian Lai, M.D. (mentors: Ganesh Palapattu, M.D.; Brent Hollenbeck, M.D.): "Understanding Active Surveillance for Prostate Cancer." Journal of Clinical Oncology-Oncology Practice. (TACR, CEP)

Nicole Grogan, M.D. (mentor: N. Lynn Henry, M.D., Ph.D.): Conquer Cancer – Rising Tide Foundation for Clinical Cancer Research Career Pathway Grant in Symptom Management. “A Single Center Phase 2 Trial to Evaluate Use of Cannabidiol (CBD) to Treat Aromatase Inhibitor-Associated Musculoskeletal Symptoms (AIMSS) in Early Stage Breast Cancer Patients” (TACR)

August 2020

Kenneth Trieu (mentor: Sunny Wong, Ph.D.): NCI F31 ($113K) for “Characterizing Genetic Factors that Modulate Stage-Specific Basal Cell Carcinoma Tumorigenesis” (CB)

Elizabeth Gensterblum-Miller (mentor: Chad Brenner, Ph.D.): NIDCR F31 ($113K) for “Analysis of the E7-Mediated Mechanism of MHC Class I Repression in HNSCC” (TACR)

July 2020

Andrea Pesch (mentors: Corey Speers M.D., Ph.D. and James Rae, Ph.D.): NCI F31 ($112K): "Elucidating the Mechanism of CDK4/6 Inhibitor-Mediated Radiosensitization of ER+ Breast Cancers" (TACR)

Jennifer Jiménez (mentors: Elizabeth Lawlor, M.D., Ph.D. and Costas Lyssiotis, Ph.D.): F31 ($113K) "Defining the role of menin in the Ewing sarcoma stress response" (CB)

Sho Kitamoto, Ph.D. (mentors: Eric Fearon, M.D., Ph.D., and Nobuhiko Kamada, Ph.D.): $562K DoD Peer Reviewed Cancer Research Program Career Development Award for “The role of oral genotoxic bacteria in the development of colon cancer” (CG, CB)

June 2020

Steven Kregel, Ph.D. (mentor: Arul Chinnaiyan, M.D., Ph.D.) and Jean Tien, Ph.D.: $583K Bristol-Myers Squibb Company for “Evaluating the effect of BMS BET inhibitor (BMS-986158) on AR signaling and its combination efficacy with AR antagonists in prostate cancer models” (CG, TACR)

May 2020

Brittany Morgan, Ph.D. (mentor: Anna Mapp, Ph.D.): NIGMS F32 ($130K) "Molecular Recognition Frameworks for Fuzzy Protein-Protein Interactions" (DT)

April 2020

Christopher Halbrook, Ph.D., a mentee of Costas Lyssiotis, Ph.D., earned an NIH K99 grant for his work on disrupting macrophage metabolism to reduce immunosuppression and enhance therapy in pancreatic cancer.

February 2020



Samuel Kerk (Mentor: Costas Lyssiotis, Ph.D.): F31 ($111K) "Metabolic interactions in the pancreatic tumor microenvironment" (CB)

Mengrou Shan (Mentor: Costas Lyssiotis, Ph.D.): F32 ($187K) "Defining and targeting malic enzyme dependence in pancreatic cancer" (CB)

January 2020



Chan Chung (mentor: Sriram Venneti, M.D., Ph.D.): $148K from the Michael Mosier Defeat DIPG Foundation and ChadTough Foundation for "Targeting DIPGs by interrupting metabolic pathways" (CG)

November 2019



Janggun Jo (mentor—Xueding Wang, PhD): $225K Prostate Cancer Foundation Young Investigator Award for “Evaluating Prostate Cancer by Functional Photoacoustic Imaging with Nanoprobe” (TACR)

October 2019


Andrea Pesch and Anna Michmerhuizen (co-first authors; mentor - Corey Speers, MD, PhD): "PARP1 Inhibition Radiosensitizes Models of Inflammatory Breast Cancer to Ionizing Radiation," Molecular Cancer Therapeutics.



Abhijit Parolia (mentor- Arul Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD): NIBIB K01 ($492K) “Chimeric Antigen Receptor T Cell Design Through Living Cell Systems Biology” (CB) : Predoctoral to Postdoctoral Fellow Transition, F99/K00 ($76K), "Exploring mechanisms of transcriptional and chromatin dysregulation in cancer"

Peter Kim (mentor-Costas Lyssiotis, PhD): F31 ($113K) “Metabolism of extracellular matrix supports pancreatic cancer growth” (CB)

Sophia Orbach (mentor-Lonnie Shea, PhD): F32 ($187K) “Heterogeneity of the early metastatic niche in cancer progression and chemoresistance” (CB)

Other NIH

Joseph Decker (mentor- Lonnie Shea, PhD): NIBIB K01 ($492K) “Chimeric Antigen Receptor T Cell Design Through Living Cell Systems Biology” (CB)

Peter Kim (mentor - Ormand MacDougald, PhD): F31 ($112K) “CRISPR/Cas9 Somatic Mutagenesis in Adipose Tissue” (CB)

Other External Grants

Steven Kregel (mentor Arul Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD): $225K Young Investigator Award from the Prostate Cancer Foundation for “Employing Murine Models with Humanized Immune Systems to Study Therapeutic Approaches for Advanced Prostate Cancer” (CG/TACR)

Maria Garcia Fabiani (mentor - Maria Castro, PhD): $100K Basic Research Fellowship from the American Brain Tumor Association for “Impact of H3G34R mutation in reprogramming the glioma immune microenvironment” (CHI)